7 knots you need to learn for NFPA 1001 skill sheet

Here is a compilation of video tutorials to help you learn the knots for NFPA 1001 skill set.

By FireRescue1 Staff

NFPA 1001 requires firefighters to complete the following task. Tie each of these seven knots: Bowline knot, clove hitch, figure of eight on a bight, half hitch, becket/sheet bend, overhand safety knot and water knot, while operating on a simulated fire ground. Candidates are given appropriate and adequate rope to complete the task. 

Refer to the following videos for a tutorial on how to tie each of the knots.

1. How to tie a bowknot


2. How to tie the clove hitch knot


3. How to for the figure eight on a bight


4. How to tie a half hitch


5. How to form the becket or sheet bend


6. How to tie the overhand safety knot 


7. How to tie a water knot



Learn more about NFPA codes and standards here. 

About the author

Firefighting 101 articles are intended to educate a non-fire service audience about the fire service profession. These articles are written by FireRescue1 staff members and FireRescue1 contributors, and cover a wide range of topics from how to join a fire academy to how to pass the exams required to be a firefighter. If there's a topic you'd like to see covered, or are interested in writing for Firefighting 101, email editor@firerescue1.com.

Recommended for you

Join the discussion


Sponsored by

logo for print