Webinar: Unaware, unwilling or unable? Identify and manage 3 types of underperforming employees

District Chief Sobieski offers strategies for handling performance issues and details how to develop a performance improvement plan


  • Topic: Unaware, unwilling or unable? Identify and manage 3 types of underperforming employees
  • Date/time: April 21, 2021, 1 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. CT / 11 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. PT
  • Presenter: District Chief Christopher Sobieski
  • Host: Fire Chief Marc Bashoor, FireRescue1 executive editor

Register for the webinar

Company and chief officers have likely spent some time studying leadership and management, much of it focusing on motivating, inspiring and developing your people. The problem: Much of this content is geared toward members who already want to be lead, and are eager to learn and excel. There is a considerable dearth of information on what to do with underperforming employees who show minimal motivation.

In this webinar, District Chief Christopher Sobieski helps identify the problem:

  1. Is the member unaware of their performance issue?
  2. Is the member unable to perform at the expected level?
  3. Is the member simply unwilling to face the problem?

Chief Sobieski presents scenarios to help officers open the eyes of the unaware, support the unable, and handle the unwilling. He then details how to implement a performance improvement plan (PIP) to identify the root cause of shortcomings, then determine how to get the employee back in compliance with work standards or how to define a course of action if that does not occur.

District Chief Chris Sobieski
District Chief Chris Sobieski

Meet the Presenter

Christopher Sobieski serves as a district chief in Cobb County (Georgia) Fire & Emergency Services with operational responsibility for half of the Metro Atlanta county’s 29 stations as well as the Technical Rescue program. He is a 35-year veteran of the fire service with 31 years at Cobb. His career started as a volunteer in the Northern Virginia/DC area. Additionally, Sobieski is a paramedic and served as a paramedic instructor for 20 years. He oversees Cobb’s Technical Rescue Team, which is a part of the Georgia Search and Rescue TF-7. He also previously served as the executive officer for Cobb’s Director of Public Safety.

Register for the webinar

Complete form to register for the "Unaware, unwilling or unable? Identifying and managing the 3 types of underperforming employees" webinar:

By submitting this form, you are granting permission to send you periodic informational messages.

Recommended for you

Copyright © 2021 FireRescue1. All rights reserved.