Trending Topics

Firefighters killed in Back Bay fire receive Medal of Honor

Family members accepted the award on behalf of firefighter Michael R. Kennedy and Lt. Edward J. Walsh Jr.

Boston Herald

BOSTON — Two fallen Boston firefighters were among those recognized during yesterday’s 25th annual Firefighter of the Year awards at the JFK Library in Boston.

“Today we honor amazing acts of courage and bravery by the commonwealth’s firefighters and take a moment to thank these heroes and their families,” said Gov. Deval Patrick, who presented the awards with state Fire Marshal Stephen Coan and Public Safety Secretary Andrea Cabral.

Boston fire Lt. Edward J. Walsh Jr. and firefighter Michael R. Kennedy, who died while fighting a Back Bay inferno last spring, were posthumously awarded the Medal of Honor.

Billerica firefighters Patrick Corbett and James Harries, Lynn firefighter Ryan Newhall and New Bedford firefighters Matthew Forand and Lt. Mark Raposa received the Medal of Valor. Boston Fire Deputy Chief Joseph Fleming received the Excellence in Leadership award.

Copyright 2014 Boston Herald
All Rights Reserved