Trending Topics
Sponsored Content

IAFC opens nomination period for annual awards

Nominees for the Fire Chief of the Year Award and Ben Franklin Award of Valor can be submitted through May 17, 2024

Sponsored by

By FireRescue1 Staff

McLEAN, Va. — The nomination period is now open for the International Association of Fire Chiefs’ (IAFC) Fire Chief of the Year Award and Ben Franklin Award of Valor.

The Fire Chief of the Year Award, established in 1996, celebrates the exemplary leadership, innovation, professional development, integrity, public service and contributions of one volunteer and one career fire chief in the fire service community.

The Ben Franklin Award of Valor, established in 1970, celebrates the legacy of bravery, courage and service emblematic of the global fire and emergency community.

The nomination period for 2024 ends on May 17 at 11:59 p.m. ET, with the selection process facilitated by a dedicated committee of IAFC members. Notifications for winners and those not selected will go out in July.

The announcement of this year’s recipients will be made on Aug. 12, 2024. The Fire Chief of the Year awards ceremony is slated for Aug. 14, 2024, followed by the Ben Franklin Award of Valor ceremony on Aug. 15, as part of the Fire-Rescue International conference in Dallas, Texas.

About the Fire Chief of the Year Award

In partnership with Pierce Manufacturing, and with media support from FireRescue1 by Lexipol, the IAFC invites nominations for fire chiefs who have demonstrated remarkable achievements and leadership within the fire service. This award pays particular attention to the nominees’ contributions from 2021 to 2023, although all of their fire service activities and accomplishments will be taken into account. It’s important to note that while leading command roles at major emergency incidents are valued, they alone will not qualify a nominee for this prestigious award.

To be eligible, a volunteer fire chief must primarily earn a living through means other than serving as a fire chief, even if the position includes some form of compensation. Conversely, a career fire chief is someone whose main source of income comes from their role as a fire chief.

About the Ben Franklin Award of Valor

Annually featured at the FRI conference, the IAFC and Motorola Solutions present an award that celebrates firefighters for their exemplary training, dedicated service and commitment to their duty in lifesaving efforts. Beyond recognizing individual heroism, this award also amplifies public recognition and appreciation for the fire and emergency services sector.

“Motorola Solutions is honored to sponsor the prestigious 2024 IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor. The actions, heroism and dedication captured in these stories protecting those they serve is unprecedented,” said Frank Galvin, president of Central Region Sales, Motorola Solutions. “We consider it a privilege to be a part of this award.”

This award is open to all active firefighters, both career and volunteer, eligible for nomination by their fire chief. The nomination can be for acts of lifesaving, whether performed while on duty or off. The criteria requires that the nominee has made a significant contribution to saving a life.