Trending Topics

SFPE names 6 new fellowship recipients, honors 14 with awards

The Society of Fire Protection Engineers announced its newest class of fellows and 2022 award winners


By FireRescue1 Staff

GAITHERSBURG, Md. — The Society of Fire Protection Engineers announced the 2022 fellowship class and additional award recipients this week.

SFPE fellows are selected for their “accomplishments and stature in fire protection engineering.” The 2022 fellowship recipients include:

  • Warren D. Bonisch, PE, FSFPE; Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates
  • Dale C. Hansen, PE, FSFPE; Harrington Group
  • Gavin Horn, PhD, FSFPE; UL Fire Safety Research Institute
  • Peter L. Senez, PEng, FSFPE; Senez Consulting
  • Victoria B. Valentine, PE, FSFPE; American Fire Sprinkler Association
  • Steven D. Wolin, PE, FSFPE; The Reliable Automatic Sprinkler Co.

Top, left to right: Warren D. Bonisch, PE, FSFPE; Dale C. Hansen, PE, FSFPE; Gavin Horn, PhD, FSFPE. Bottom, left to right: Peter L. Senez, PEng, FSFPE; Victoria B. Valentine, PE, FSFPE; Steven D. Wolin, PE, FSFPE.

The SFPE also honored “5 under 35” to the industry’s top rising leaders noted for giving back to the profession and the community:

  • Spence R. Carter, PE; Idaho National Laboratory
  • William A. Clay, PE; Burns & McDonnell
  • Jessica L. Doermann; ARUP
  • Ruggiero Lovreglio, PhD; Massey University
  • Yu Wang, PhD; The State Key Laboratory of Fire Science, China University of Science and Technology

The SFPE honored nine additional individuals with awards:

  • Daniel L. Arnold, PE, FSFPE; Seneca Fire Engineering – recipient of the SFPE John J. Ahern President’s Award
  • Brian W. Ballweg, PE; Hays Company – recipient of the SFPE Hats Off Award
  • Sean S. Donohue, PE, PEng, FSFPE; Jensen Hughes – recipient of the SFPE Harold E. Nelson Service Award
  • Jeffrey L. Harrington, PE, FSFPE; Harrington Group (ret.) – recipient of the SFPE Rolf H. Jensen Award for Outstanding Committee Service
  • Robert Jönsson; Prof. em., FSFPE; SWECO – recipient of the SFPE David A. Lucht Lamp of Knowledge Award
  • Gary Lewis; City of Summit, New Jersey – recipient of the SFPE Fire Protection Person of the Year Award
  • Guo-Qiang Li, PhD; Tongji University – recipient of the SFPE John L. Bryan Mentoring Award
  • Jack Poole, PE, FSFPE; Poole Fire Protection – recipient of the SFPE D. Peter Lund Award
  • Stanis Yu, UL Solutions – recipient of the SFPE Hats Off Award

“Our global community waits in anticipation each year for the announcement of who will be elevated to the status of SFPE Fellow, and – as the most prestigious professional honor bestowed by the Society – Warren, Dale, Gavin, Peter, Victoria, and Steven are most deserving of this highest distinction,” said Nicole Boston, CAE, Chief Executive Officer, Society of Fire Protection Engineers. “While our community has many, many talented engineering professionals, these six new Fellows and 14 award recipients represent some of the brightest, most involved, and most impactful engineering professionals.”

Awards will be presented to the winners at the SFPE Annual Conference & Expo taking place Oct. 12-14, 2022, in Detroit, Michigan. To register for the conference, visit the SFPE website.