Trending Topics

Cold Water Challenge Face-off: Lorraine Carli crowned champion

Check out the voters’ order versus the true order the fire service leaders completed their challenge


After several weeks of voting, we have our Cold Water Challenge Face-off champion!

NFPA’s Lorraine Carli beat out Chief Dennis Rubin, a frequent and regular contributing author to FireRescue1 and Fire Chief, with a total of 60 votes versus his 42 votes.


As part of the challenge, we thought it would be interesting to see which order you thought the contestants completed the challenge versus their true completed challenge date.

Here is what you, the voters, thought the order should be:

Lorraine Carli
Dennis Rubin
Vickie Pritchett
Ronald Siarnicki
John Buckman III
Rick Markley
Robert Avsec
Billy Goldfeder

And, the true order the contestants actually completed their challenge:

Vickie Pritchett: May 19, 2014
Lorraine Carli: June 6, 2014
Billy Goldfeder: June 9, 2014
Robert Avsec: June 15, 2014
Dennis Rubin: June 15, 2014
John Buckman III: June 16, 2014
Ronald Siarnicki : June 24, 2014
Rick Markley: July 4, 2014

Here are the final bracket results:

Updates every minute - View full tournament

“The Question” section brings together user-generated articles from our Facebook page based on questions we pose to our followers, as well as some of the best content we find on Quora, a question-and-answer website created, edited and organized by its community of users who are often experts in their field. The site aggregates questions and answers for a range of topics, including public safety. The questions and answers featured here on FR1 are posted directly from Quora, and the views and opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect those of FR1.