Trending Topics

Help EMSA Recognize Emergency Medical Services Superstars

Nominations are being accepted for 2009 California EMS Awards Program

Sacramento – Emergency medical services (EMS) personnel have a tough job, but a simple mission – to help people in their darkest hour. They are trained and ready to provide stabilizing and lifesaving care to our citizens when no other type of aid will do.

The duties that EMS personnel perform are usually done as a matter of routine, and they receive very little, if any, recognition for activities that are “above and beyond” the call of duty. It is for this reason that the Emergency Medical Services Authority (EMS Authority) initiated the California EMS Awards Program to honor those who have performed noteworthy, exceptional, and even extraordinary acts while working as EMS certified or licensed personnel, administrators, trainers, or volunteers within the EMS system. Various levels of personnel comprise the EMS system and an array of categories was created to include them all.

EMS providers, supervisors, and managers are encouraged to watch for outstanding performances by their staff, and to nominate any responsible individual for recognition in the appropriate category. Nominations should cover activities occurring in the 2009 calendar year. For complete information about award categories and past recipients, please visit the EMSA website at

Individual Award Nomination
These awards honor special advocacy, meritorious acts, heroic acts, innovations or new approaches to improve EMS in the state, or other unique and/or significant contributions by EMS personnel, physicians, nurses, EMTs, other medical providers, local officials, members of the law enforcement community, citizens, and first responders. These awards are intended to recognize meritorious acts of certified and/or licensed EMS providers.

Medal of Valor
Recognizes an EMT for acts of personal valor or heroism in the delivery of emergency medical care, which results in the saving of a life under extreme conditions and/or in extraordinary circumstances.

EMS Cross
Recognizes a uniformed EMT who by act and deed represents the most outstanding achievement or accomplishment in EMS over an extended period of time. This is the highest award that can be conferred in the absence of extreme conditions and extraordinary circumstances.

Distinguished Service Medal
Recognizes an individual for distinguished service or achievement affecting statewide EMS over an extended period of time. A maximum of ten Distinguished Service Medals will be awarded in any one year.

Meritorious Service Medal
Recognizes an individual for a meritorious act or service within EMS. This award also recognizes an EMT for an act that is above and beyond the call of duty in the course of a particular EMS emergency or event.

Lifesaving Medal
Recognizes an EMS provider who, while in an off-duty or volunteer capacity, makes an extremely noteworthy contribution to efforts which result in the saving of a life.

Community Service Award
Recognizes an EMT who has made an outstanding commitment to non-patient care aspects of a community’s EMS system. Special emphasis is on EMS Public Information, Education, and Relations. A maximum of ten Community Service Awards will be conferred in any one year.

Inter-service EMS Recognition Medal
Recognizes outstanding heroism, extraordinary service, or achievement of non-EMTs (police officers, firefighters, lifeguards, dispatchers, and other public or private safety officers) for outstanding or exceptional support of a particular EMS emergency, event or operation.

Civilian Award for EMS
Recognizes a civilian (non-certified, non-health care provider) who provides extraordinary service during the course of an EMS emergency. Awards are relatively based upon the degree of patient outcome, extreme conditions, or extraordinary circumstances.

Statewide EMS System Award Nomination

EMT of the Year Award (3)
Honors an EMT-I, EMT-II and EMT-Paramedic, each of whom is exemplary in his/her quality of patient care and/or dedication to their community. Any statewide certified EMT-I or EMT-II, and any licensed EMT-Paramedic is eligible. Nominations may be made by anyone. Describe the nominee’s qualities and contributions to the local EMS service or system. Letters of support from fellow EMTs, local EMS directors, and local officials will be weighed heavily.

EMS Educator of the Year Award
Honors an EMS educator who excels as a teacher or who has made a significant contribution to the EMS education program in the State.

EMS Medical Director of the Year Award
Honors a physician who serves or has served the EMS system by providing medical direction, on-line or off-line, and who has made a special contribution through such activities as systems development, continuing education, quality assurance, medical community liaison, etc.

EMS Administrator of the Year Award
Honors an EMS system administrator who has distinguished him or her self through noteworthy contribution to a local, regional, or to the statewide EMS system.

Individual Achievement Recognition Notification of Eligibility