Trending Topics

7 knots you need to learn for NFPA 1001 skill sheet

Video tutorials are a great way to learn the knots for NFPA 1001 skill set

Screen Shot 2022-06-28 at 11.10.49 AM.png

NFPA 1001: Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications requires firefighters to tie each of these seven knots: bowline knot, clove hitch, figure of eight on a bight, half hitch, becket/sheet bend, overhand safety knot and water knot, while operating on a simulated fireground. Candidates are given appropriate and adequate rope to complete the task.

Refer to the following videos for a tutorial on how to tie each of the knots.

1. How to tie a bowline knot

2. How to tie the clove hitch knot

3. How to for the figure eight on a bight

4. How to tie a half hitch

5. How to form the becket or sheet bend

6. How to tie the overhand safety knot

7. How to tie a water knot

Learn more about NFPA codes and standards here.

Read next: How to buy rescue equipment (eBook)

This article, originally published in 2017, has been updated.

Rachel Engel is an award-winning journalist and the senior editor of and In addition to her regular editing duties, Engel seeks to tell the heroic, human stories of first responders and the importance of their work. She earned her bachelor’s degree in communications from Cameron University in Lawton, Oklahoma, and began her career as a freelance writer, focusing on government and military issues. Engel joined Lexipol in 2015 and has since reported on issues related to public safety. Engel lives in Wichita, Kansas. She can be reached via email.